The Art of Hospitality

  Hospitality is close to my heart. I love having people over for dinner, lunch, tea, etc. My mother really exemplified this ministry in our home as I was growing up and it was beautiful. We would have people over for a small group/bible study every Tuesday night. That meant we cleaned house for it and prepared food for it. Tuesday nights were a highlight of my childhood. I loved them and other people did too. I built friendships there that have stayed with me into adulthood. 

  What is hospitality? This is what Wikipedia has to say about it: 

Hospitality refers to the relationship between a guest and a host, wherein the host receives the guest with goodwill, including the reception and entertainment of guests, visitors, or strangers. Louis, chevalier de Jaucourt describes hospitality in the Encyclopédie as the virtue of a great soul that cares for the whole universe through the ties of humanity.

  As a christian I have been welcomed into the family of God. I believe hospitality is a reflection of that welcoming spirit. I want to show God’s heart by being a soul that cares through building ties of humanity. Hospitality is about creating ties with people. It’s about building relationships. It’s saying “I want to be intentional about blessing you and attending to your needs.” It’s about sharing beauty with someone. “Home” is beautiful. Setting out cookies is beautiful. Making someone a cup of tea is beautiful.

  Hospitality touches a need in the human soul. Every human soul is created to appreciate “home” because God wants us to long for home. The only true home is found in relationship with God. Hospitality should be an avenue to draw us to our true home. Jesus himself told us that He has gone to prepare a place for us. What a beautiful home that will be!

One of my favorite verses is Psalm 27:4 (NKJV)

One thing I have desired of the Lord,
That will I seek:
That I may dwell in the house of the Lord
All the days of my life,
To behold the beauty of the Lord,
And to inquire in His temple.

  To me this verse displays true home. Dwelling in the house of the LORD, beholding His beauty. The concept of beholding the beauty of the LORD is precious to me. And that is why beholding beauty in this world, this creation that we live in is precious to me. Because everything of beauty in this world is only beautiful because of the expressed creative beauty of God. It is an expression of God to humanity. People were created to live in beauty. In a garden called Eden. That was meant to be home for us. 

    So the next time you have the opportunity to make someone a cup of tea or have someone over for dinner remember the garden. Remember Eden and remember that we are all souls longing for the beauty of home. Show hospitality and be that true expression of God’s welcoming heart towards us.

©2017 Lindsy Vestnes

Leave a Reply

